Tallis: Music for a Reformed Church

Tallis: Complete Works - Volume 6
Music for a Reformed Church
Chapelle du Roi - Alistair Dixon
Signum 022


  1. Christ rising again from the dead
  2. Preces, 1st set
  3. Venite
  4. Te Deum
  5. Benedictus
  6. Responses and collects for Easter Matins
  7. Commandments
  8. Credo
  9. Offertory sentence
  10. Sanctus
  11. Gloria
  12. Preces, 2nd set
  13. Wherewithal shall a young man
  14. O do well unto they servant
  15. My soul cleaveth to the dust
  16. Magnificat
  17. Nunc dimittis
  18. Responses and collects for Christmas Eve evensong
  19. O Lord, give thy Holy Spirit
  20. Purge me, O Lord
  21. Verily, verily I say unto you
  22. Remember not, O Lord God
  23. O Lord, in thee is all my trust
  24. Out from the deep

  25. Tunes for Archbishop Parker's Psalter
  26. Man blest no doubt
  27. Let God arise in majesty
  28. Why fum'th in fight
  29. O come in one to praise the Lord
  30. E'en like the hunted hind
  31. Expend, O Lord, my plaint
  32. Why brag'st in malice high
  33. God grant with grace
  34. Ordinal

Performers: Elizabeth Franklin-Kitchen (soprano), Carolyn Sampson (soprano), Stephen Taylor (alto), William Missin (alto), David Bates (alto), Ian Aitkenhead (alto), Benjamin Rayfield (tenor), Daniel Ludford-Thomas (tenor), Eamonn Dougan (bass), Cheyney Kent (bass)

Playing time: 76'

Recording date: July 2000 (Hampstead); released: 2003

Tracks Nos. 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 16, 17, and (possibly-spurious) 9 make up what is called Tallis' "Dorian Service."

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb