Tallis: Complete Works - Volume 8

Tallis: Complete Works - Volume 8
Lamentations and Contrafacta
Chapelle du Roi - Alistair Dixon
Signum 036


  1. Lamentations of Jeremiah I
  2. Lamentations of Jeremiah II
  3. Wipe away my sins
  4. Forgive me, Lord, my sin
  5. Blessed are those that be undefiled
  6. Arise, O Lord, and hear
  7. With all our hearts
  8. I call and cry to thee
  9. O sacred and holy banquet
  10. When Jesus went into Simon the Pharisee's house
  11. Blessed be thy name
  12. O Praise the Lord II
  13. Sing and glorify heaven's high majesty

Performers: Elizabeth Franklin-Kitchen (soprano), Emma Preston Dunlop (soprano), Carolyn Simpson (soprano), William Missin (alto), David Bates (alto), Richard Poyser (alto), Stephen Taylor (alto), Benjamin Rayfield (tenor), Daniel Ludford-Thomas (tenor), Mark Dobell (tenor), Nick Todd (tenor), Francis Brett (bass), Eamonn Dougan (bass), Cheyney Kent (bass), Edward Price (bass), Robert Rice (bass)

Playing time: 63'

Recording date: September 2002 (Gospel Oak); released: 2004

All works are in five parts, except for the final track, in 40 parts. The majority of the program consists of English contrafacta of Latin motets.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb