Monteverdi: Selva Morale e spirituale

Monteverdi: Selva Morale e Spirituale
La Capella Ducale / Musica Fiata Köln - Roland Wilson
Sony Vivarte 53363


  1. Monteverdi: Dixit Dominus II (8 voices, 2 violins, 4 sackbuts)
  2. Picchi: Canzon XVII (2 cornets, 4 sackbuts, 2 violins)
  3. Monteverdi: Confitebor I (3 voices, 5 voice chorus)
  4. Picchi: Sonata VI (sackbut, violin)
  5. Monteverdi: Beatus vir I (6 voices, 2 violins, 3 sackbuts)
  6. Picchi: Canzon XIV (4 sackbuts, 2 cornets)
  7. Monteverdi: Laudate pueri I (5 voices, 2 violins)
  8. Picchi: Canzon XII (2 sackbuts, 2 violins)
  9. Monteverdi: Laudate Dominum III (8 voices)
  10. Picchi: Canzon XV (4 sackbuts, 2 violins)
  11. Monteverdi: Magnificat I (8 voices, 2 violins 4 sackbuts)
  12. Picchi: Canzon I (2 violins, cornet)
  13. Monteverdi: Salve Regina (3 voices)

Performers: Gundula Anders (soprano), Mona Spägele (soprano), David Cordier (alto), Andreas Scholl (alto), Wilfried Jochens (tenor), Nico van der Meel (tenor), Harry van der Kamp (bass), Frederick Martin (bass), Anette Sichelschmidt (violin), Ghislaine Wauters (violin, viola), Roland Wilson (cornet), Hans-Peter Westermann (cornet), Yuji Fujimoto (sackbuts), Detlef Reimers (sackbut), Peter Sommer (sackbut), Henning Plumeyer (sackbut), Christoph Lehmann (organ, spinet), Stephen Stubbs (chitarrone), Lee Santana (chitarrone, lute), Hartwig Groth (violone), Hartwig Groth (double bass), Bernhard Junghänel (bass dulcian)

Playing time: 76'

Recording date: November 1992

These Monteverdi motets are taken from his rather motley collection Selva morale e spirituale (1641), containing pieces in many styles and written throughout his career.

The instrumental pieces of Giovanni Picchi (1572-1643) are taken from his Canzoni da sonar (1625).

A couple of recordings by the present ensemble devoted entirely to similar instrumental music:

Frescobaldi: Canzoni da sonare
Musica Fiata Köln - Roland Wilson
Deutsche Harmonia Mundi 77313
Bertali: Sonate Festive
Musica Fiata - Roland Wilson
CPO 999 545

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb