Ralph Vaughan Williams

Vaughan Williams
Folk Songs Album
The Deller Consort & Desmond Dupré - Alfred Deller, dir.
Vanguard VRS 1055 [LP, mono]
Vanguard VSD 2058 [LP, stereo]
Vanguard VSL 11021 [LP, UK]
Vanguard (Arcade) Classics "Alfred Deller Edition" 08 5073 71 [CD, Europe]
Vanguard (Arcade) Classics "Alfred Deller Edition" 300 330-2 [CD, France]
Vanguard (Omega) Classics OVC 8109 [CD, NA]


    Ralph Vaughan Williams:
  1. An Acre of Land
  2. A Farmer's Son So Sweet
  3. The Lover's Ghost
  4. The Turtle Dove
  5. John Dory
  6. Greensleeves
  7. The Jolly Ploughboy
  8. Wassail Song
  9. Down by the Riverside
  10. Bushes and Briars

  11. ----
  12. Just as the Tide was Flowing
  13. Ca' the Yowes
  14. My Boy Billy
  15. The Spring Time of the Year
  16. Ward the Pirate
  17. The Painful Plough
  18. The Dark-Eyed Sailor
  19. The Cuckoo and the Nightingale
  20. Loch Lomond

Playing time: 50' 51"

The Deller Consort: Eileen Poulter (soprano), Mary Thomas (soprano), Alfred Deller (counter-tenor), Wilfred Brown (tenor), Gerald English (tenor), Maurice Bevan (baritone), Geoffrey Coleby (bass)
& Desmond Dupré (lute)
Alfred Deller, dir.

Recording site and date:
Baumgartner Hall, Vienna, Austria [07/1959];
Rel.: 1960 (VSL)

Musical Concepts MC 193 [CDx7 + CD-ROM] Alfred Deller – The Complete Vanguard Recordings, Volume ONE: Folk Songs and Ballads

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 420-180 (November 1995 (as 300 330))
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from LP (VSL) and CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge