Christmas songs vol. IV

Christmas Carols & Motets of Medieval Europe
The Deller Consort - Alfred Deller, dir. & Musica Antiqua of Vienna - René Clemencic, dir.
Vanguard "The Bach Guild" BGS-680 [LP, mono, NA]
Vanguard "The Bach Guild" BGS-70680 [LP, stereo, NA]
Amadeo AVRS 5056 [LP, stereo, Europe]


    Anon., end of 15th, Czech hymn book
  1. Motet (à 4): De Nativitate Domine

  2. Giacomo Fogliano
  3. Lauda: Ave Maria

  4. Jan of Jenstejn
  5. Monody: Decet huius cunctis horis

  6. Pedro de Escobar, Cathedral Library, Tarazona, Spain Ms
  7. In Nativitate Domine (à 4)

  8. Anon., end of 15th, Czech hymn booktrad.
  9. O Regina, Lux Divina (à 3)

  10. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  11. Motet (à 4): Hodie Christus natus est

  12. Byttering, Old Hall & York Ms
  13. Motet (à 3): Nesciens mater

  14. Johannes Ciconia, Codex Trent
  15. Et in terra pax (instr.)

  16. ----
    St. Godric, British museum, Ms Reg. v. f.vii,f.
  17. Crist and Sainte Marie

  18. John Dunstable
  19. Sancta Maria

  20. Anon., Codex Montpellier
  21. Isorythmic motet: O Maria virgo (instr.)

  22. Anon., England, 14th c., British Museum add. 29987
  23. Gloria

  24. Henricus Isaac
  25. Introït (à 4): Puer natus

  26. Thomas Stoltzer
  27. Foeno iacere (instr.)

  28. Ludwig Senfltrad.
  29. Maria Zart

  30. Leonel Power, Old Hall Ms
  31. Motet (à 3): Beata Progenies

  32. Anon., England, early 14th c.
  33. Alleluya psallat

Playing time: 44' 58"

The Deller Consort
Honor Sheppard (soprano), Mark Deller (counter-tenor), Philip Todd (tenor), Maurice Bevan (baritone)
Alfred Deller, dir.
Musica Antiqua of Vienna
Helmut Ascherl (renaissance trombone, hurdy-gurdy), René Clemencic (recorder, organ), Wolfgang Hartl (alto pommer, renaissance bassoon or dolzian, bass krummhorn), Erwin Kellner (renaissance trombone), Bernhard Klebel (soprano pommer, krummhorn), Hubert Koller (tenor gamba), Paul Maurer (tenor pommer, krummhorn, drum), Hans Radbauer (glockenspiel, drum), Gerhard Stradner (zink, fiddle, recorder, Hans Tchedemnig (renaissance alto trombone), Peter Widensky (finger-hole horn, recorder, organ), Fritz Würzler (renaissance trombone)
René Clemencic, dir.

Recording site and date:
Vienna [1965]

Omega OVC 8050/3 [CDx4] A Celebration of Christmas - Carols through the Ages.
Musical Concepts MC 192 [CDx4 + CD-ROM] Alfred Deller – The Complete Vanguard Recordings, Volume THREE: Christmas Carols and Motets

Reviewed in:

Information from LP & CD.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge