Bach Musical Offering

J.S. Bach: Musikalisches Opfer
Ensemble Sonnerie - Monica Huggett
Virgin Veritas 45139


  1. Ricercar a 3 (harpsichord)
  2. Canon Perpetuus super Thema Regium (violin, oboe da caccia, viola da gamba, viola, flute, bassoon)
  3. Canon 1, a 2 - cancrizans (violin, oboe da caccia, bassoon, viola da gamba)
  4. Canon 2, a 2 - Violino in unisono (violins, harpsichord, bassoon)
  5. Canon 3, a 2 - per Motum contrarium (flute, violin, viola, oboe da caccia, viola da gamba, bassoon)
  6. Canon 4, a 2 - per Augmentationem contrario motu 'Notulis crescentibus crescat Fortuna Regis' (oboe da caccia, viola da gamba, violin, viola, bassoon, flute)
  7. Canon 5, a 2 - Canon circularis per tonos 'Ascendente Modulatione ascendat Gloria Regis' (viola da gamba, bassoon, tenor viola, viola, oboe da caccia, oboe d'amore, oboe, violin, flute)
  8. Fuga canonica in Epidiapente (flute, harpsichord, violin, viola da gamba)
  9. Ricercar a 6 (flute, violin, oboe da caccia, tenor viola, bassoon, viola da gamba)
  10. Canon a 2, Quaerendo Invenientis (harpsichord, viola da gamba, viola, bassoon)
  11. Canon a 4 -
    1. (oboe, viola da gamba, viola, bassoon)
    2. (flute, violin, tenor viola, viola da gamba)
    3. (flute, violin, oboe da caccia, viola, viola da gamba, bassoon)

  12. Sonata Sopr'il Soggetto Reale (flute, violin, viola da gamba, harpsichord)
  13. I. Largo
  14. II. Allegro
  15. III. Andante
  16. IV. Allegro
  17. Canon perpetuus (flute, violin, viola da gamba, harpsichord)
  18. Ricercar a 6 (harpsichord)

Performers: Monica Huggett (violin), Sarah Cunningham (viola da gamba), Gary Cooper (harpsichord), Wilbert Hazelzet (flute), Paul Goodwin (oboes), Pavlo Beznosiuk (violin, violas), Frances Eustace (bassoon)

Instruments: Violin - Antonius & Hieronymous Amati (Cremona, 1618); Viola da gamba - Guy Derat (Paris, 1987) after N. Bertrand (1720); Harpsichord - Bruce Kennedy (1992) after Michael Mietke (c.1704); Flute - Alain Weemaels (Brussels, 1989) after G. A. Rottenburgh; Oboes - Paul Hailperin (1984-6) after Paulhahn and Eichentopf (1720); Violin - Hill workshop (c.1760); Viola - England (c.1730); Tenor viola - Rowland Ross (1978) after 'Tuscany' Stradivarius (1690); Bassoon - Paul Hailperin (1992) after Deper (c.1720)

Playing time: 72'

Recording date: May 1994

This recording uses a more aggressive approach to arranging Bach's scores.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb