Ther is no rose

Ther is no rose
Renaissance Music for the Christmas season
Virgin Veritas 45286


    Anon./St. Amrose (attr.):
  1. Veni redemptor gencium

  2. Anon., Nikolaus Apel Codex:
  3. Dies est laetitiae
  4. Fortuna/Virginis
  5. A solis hortus cardine

  6. Kaspar Othmayr:
  7. Nun komm der Heiden Heiland

  8. Paul Hofhaimer, arr. Newsidler:
  9. Nach Willen dein

  10. Arnolt Schlick:
  11. Maria zart

  12. Hildegard of Bingen:
  13. Ave generosa

  14. Anon., 15th c.:
  15. Ther is no rose
  16. Ave rex angelorum

  17. Guillaume Dufay:
  18. Ce jour de l'an
  19. Bon jour, bon mois

  20. Anon., French traditional, arr. Virelai:
  21. Noël nouvelet

  22. Anon., French traditional:
  23. Guillo pran ton tambourin

  24. Mateo Flecha the elder?, Villancicos de diversos autores:
  25. E la don, don

  26. Francisca Guerrero, Canciones y villanescas:
  27. Oy Joseph

  28. Anon., Villancicos de diversos autores:
  29. Rey aquien reyes adoran

  30. Francisco Guerrero, Canciones y villanescas:
  31. Los reyes

  32. Francisco Guerrero
  33. O Virgen

  34. Francesco da Milano:
  35. Fantasia

  36. Thomas Ravenscroft: Melismata: musical phansies fitting court, citie, and countrey humours to 3, 4 and 5 voyces
  37. Remember O thou man

  38. Anon.:
  39. Swete was the song

  40. Michael Praetorius:
  41. Es ist ein Ros
  42. In dulci jubilo
  43. Vom Himmel hoch
  44. Wie schö leuchtet

Playing time: 64' 17"

Performers: Virelai [Catherine King (mezzo-soprano), Jacob Heringman (medieval plectrum lute, tenor & bass renaissance lutes), William Lyons (renaissance flutes & recorders), Susanna Pell (viols, lute, recorder), Sarah Cunningham (viols, renaissance harp)].

Recording site and date:
St. Andrew's Church, Toddington, Gloucestershire, England [02/1997]

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned CD. This is a wonderful recording. Note Sarah Cunningham (Trio Sonnerie), Catherine King (Gothic voices), Jacob Heringman (Musician of the Globe), William Lyons (Dufay Collective)...

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge