The Christmas story

The Christmas story
The Waverly Consort - Michael Jaffee, dir.
Waverly WAV 13099


    Jan of Jenstejn, Office of the Feast of the Visitation
  1. Sequence: Decet huius cunctis horis

  2. Anon., c1230, Beauvais Ms
  3. Prosa for Matins, january 1: Ave, Maria, gratia plena

  4. Gregorian, , Magnificat for Second Vespers, Feast of St. Gabriel, Archangel
  5. Antiphon: Archangelus Gabriel

  6. Anon., 13th c., Sens
  7. Conductus: Nostre quod providerat
    Anon., England, 14th c.
    Gabriel, Fram Heven-King

  8. Anon., Paris, 13th c.
  9. Conductus: Vetus abit littera

  10. Anon., Rouen, 13th c.
  11. Scene from the "Shepherds' Play"

  12. Guillaume Du Fay
  13. Gloria in terra pax

  14. Anon., 12th, Beauvais Ms
  15. Conductus: Orientis partibus

  16. Leonel Power
  17. Antiphon: Beata progenies

  18. Anon., 14th c., Italy
  19. Lauda: Verbum caro factum est
    Anon., 14th c., Carmina Burana
    Fulget dies celebris

  20. Anon., Worcester Cathedral, c1310
  21. Sanctus and Benedictus

  22. Anon., Fleury Ms, 12th c.
  23. Scene from "The Play of Herod"

  24. Anon., Worcester Cathedral, c1310
  25. Agnus Dei

  26. Guillaume Du Fay
  27. Hymn for Epiphany: Hostis Herodes impie

  28. Anon., mid 13th c.
  29. Conductus (a 2): Sonent laudes pueri

  30. Anon., 13th c., Sens
  31. Conductus: Natus est! Natus est!

  32. Anon., Burgos, Spain c1300
  33. Benedicamus trope: Verbum patris hodie

  34. Anon.
  35. Hymn of the Thanksgiving: Te Deum laudamus

Playing time: 52' 40"

The Waverly Consort [Shannon Anderson (soprano), Andrea Larson (sopano), Carolann Buff (mezzo-soprano), Paul Flight (counter-tenor), John Shankweiler (tenor), William Hudson (tenor), Thomas Meglioranza (baritone), Paul Houghtaling (bass-baritone), Peter Stewart (bass), Kay Jaffee (organetto, harp, gemshorn, recorders, bells, percussion), Michael Jaffee (citole, hurdy-gurdy, bells, percussion), Steven Lundahl (slide trumpet), Rosamund Morley (vielle, bowed psaltery), Daniel Stillman (shawm, slide trumpet)] - Michael Jaffee, dir. & Kay Jaffee, co-dir.

Recording site and date:
Purchase College Conservatory of Music Recital Hall, Performance Arts Center, State University at Purchase, New York, USA [05/1999];
rel. 2000

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 24/2-36 (November/December 2000)
Goldberg (#-p.):

Information from owned CD

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge