Beethoven: Symphonies

Beethoven: 9 Symphonies
The Chamber Orchestra of Europe - Nikolaus Harnoncourt
Teldec 46452 (5 CDs)


    Symphony No. 1 in C, Op. 21
  1. Adagio molto - Allegro con brio
  2. Andante cantabile con moto
  3. Menuetto: Allegro molto e vivace
  4. Finale: Adagio - Allegro molto e vivace

  5. Symphony No. 3 in Eb, Op. 55
  6. Allegro con brio
  7. Marcia funebre: Adagio assai
  8. Scherzo: Allegro vivace
  9. Finale: Allegro molto
    Symphony No. 6 in F, Op. 68
  1. Allegro ma non troppo. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande
  2. Andante molto moto. Szene am Bach
  3. Allegro. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute
  4. Allegro. Gewitter, Sturm
  5. Allegretto. Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm

  6. Symphony No. 8 in F, Op. 93
  7. Allegro vivace e con brio
  8. Allegretto scherzando
  9. Tempo di Minuetto
  10. Allegro vivace
    Symphony No. 2 in D, Op. 36
  1. Adagio molto - Allegro con brio
  2. Larghetto
  3. Scherzo: Allegro
  4. Allegro molto

  5. Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67
  6. Allegro con brio
  7. Andante con moto
  8. Allegro
  9. Allegro
    Symphony No. 4 in Bb, Op. 60
  1. Adagio - Allegro vivace
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro vivace
  4. Allegro ma non troppo

  5. Symphony No. 7 in A, Op. 92
  6. Poco sostenuto - Vivace
  7. Allegretto
  8. Presto
  9. Allegro con brio
    Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125
  1. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
  2. Molto vivace
  3. Adagio molto e cantabile
  4. Presto - Allegro assai
    Presto - Rezitativo
    Allegro assai vivace alla marcia
    Allegro ma non tanto

Performers: Chamber Orchestra of Europe; Arnold Schoenberg Choir; Erwin Ortner (choirmaster), Peter Richards (horn), Charlotte Margiono (soprano), Birgit Remmert (contralto), Rudolf Schasching (tenor), Robert Holl (bass), Nikolaus Harnoncourt (director)

Playing time: 357'

Recording dates: June & July 1990, June 1991 (Graz, live)

How many performances of these works are there? There is no way that I have surveyed them, nor do I want to do so. This series is acceptable to me, and sometimes interesting. I particularly enjoy the instrumental texture. That's where the "period" aspect adds something tangible, although strictly speaking I don't have an overall preference for period performances.

To purchasing information for this disc

To Beethoven list.

T. M. McComb