D. K. Pattammal, Live Vol. 2
w/ Lalitha Sivakumar (vocal support), T. Rukmani (violin), I. Sivakumar (mridangam)
Inreco IP-5117


  1. Biranavaralichi - Kalyani/Adi, tisra nadai - Shyama Sastry (31'00)
  2. Tyagaraja Yoga Vaibhavamo - Ananda Bhairavi/Rupakam - Muthuswamy Dikshitar (8'20)
  3. Ragam Thanam Pallavi "Devi"- Vachaspathi/Tisra Triputa, kanda nadai (18'19)
  4. Bhajare Manasa - Karnataka Devakanthari/Adi - Mysore Vasudevachar (7'51)
  5. Thiruppugazh - Arunagirinathar (2'37)
  6. Thillana - Khamas/Adi - Patnam Subramania Iyer (2'59)

Sound quality: good

Recording date: unknown; CD release: 2000

This is a live recital from DKP's late years, and while she is there to frame the performance with her voice, many gaps are filled by the support artistes. The violin of T. Rukmani is often more in evidence than the voice, and Lalitha Sivakumar sings entire phrases (miked softly). The sense of perspective can be worthwhile, however, and there are some strong DKP-oriented passages.

To Vol. 1 details.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To Carnatic CD list.

T. M. McComb