Cascades of Carnatic Music
M. L. Vasanthakumari
w/ T. Rukmani (violin), Palghat T.S. Mani Iyer (mridangam), S.D. Sridhar (violin), S.V. Raja Rao (mridangam), Hari Shankar (kanjira)
Oriental 158/159 (2 CDs)


  1. Swaminadha Paripaalaya - Natai/Adi - Muthuswamy Dikshitar (6'37)
  2. RTP: "Kadaikkan Vaithennai" - Mohanam/Thisra jathi Rupakam, Misra gathi (37'03)
  3. Adhalasera - Ragamalika/Rupakam (2'49)
  1. Gana Naayagam - Poorna Sadjamam/Adi - Muthuswamy Dikshitar (3'48)
  2. Ennaadu Nee - Vachaspathi/Adi - Thyagaraja (17'06)
  3. Lalisidalu - Karaharapriya/Adi - Rangasami Parthasarathy (3'10)
  4. Senthamizh Nadenum - Poorvi Kalyani/Adi - Rangasami Parthasarathy (4'06)
  5. Sancharadhara (Ashtapathi) - Ragamalika/Adi - Balamurali Krishna (5'49)
  6. Rama Namathukku - Kalyana Vasantham/Adi (3'15)
  7. Anjana Kaanjana - Ragamalika/Adi (5'08)

Sound quality: good

Recording date: unknown; re-released from LP

The first CD (the first three tracks) is accompanied by T. Rukmani and Palghat T.S. Mani Iyer, while the second CD (the final seven tracks) is accompanied by S.D. Sridhar, S.V. Raja Rao and Hari Shankar.

This remains among the most effective studio programs for MLV, with the first two tracks being especially compelling. Some of the tracks on the second disc are of limited value, but the overall quality is good here.

Mohanam is a raga at which MLV particularly excelled, and many of her recordings feature it. The RTP here continues to be a good reference rendition.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To Carnatic CD list.

T. M. McComb