M. S. Subbulakshmi: Radio Recitals (excerpts)
EMI India CDNF 147764/65 AIR Release (2 CDs)


  1. Thiruvembavai: Moyyar Tadam - Poorvikalyani/Misra Chapu - Mani Vachakar (2'56)
  2. Karthikeya - Thodi/Adi - Papanasam Sivan (23'47)
  3. Kanbadeppodu - Bilahari/Adi - Ambujam Krishna (11'09)
  4. Virutham: Kuthagaiyai - Ragamalika (8'15)
  5. Padam: Kuvalayakshiro - Gowlipantu/Tisra Triputa - Kshethragnar (8'00)
  6. Sloka: Tato Yagne - Ragamalika - Valmiki Maharishi (6'31)
  7. Aadamodi - Charukesi/Adi - Thyagaraja (6'52)
  8. Vittuvidada - Kedargowla/Adi - Arunachala Kavi (4'39)
  9. Kaarubaru - Mukhari/Adi - Thyagaraja (6'40)
  10. Kahaanke - Tulsidas (5'03)
  11. Sloka - Poornananda Saraswathi (2'32)
  12. Ennalloorage - Subhapantuvarali/Misra Chapu - Thyagaraja (9'27)
  13. Ramachandrena - Manji/Rupakam - Muthuswamy Dikshitar (3'44)
  14. Ennaga Manasu - Neelambari/Adi - Thyagaraja (5'17)
  15. Sloka, Pibare Ramarasam - Yaman Kalyani/Adi - Sadasiva Brahmendra (4'22)
  16. Thavadasoham - Punnagavarali/Adi - Thyagaraja (4'07)

Sound quality: fair

Recording dates: between 1961 & 1987

Accompanists are not named, although there are substantial contributions from the violinist(s) as well as a mridangam-ghatam thani in Kanbadeppodu.

This highly anticipated set was quite a disappointment for me. The program is such a hodge-podge, and some of the tracks are not complete. In the latter case, I fully expected "excerpts" to mean excerpts from the full recitals, not excerpts of songs! Further, the sound is muffled and the accompanists are not named... just another release for which EMI India should be ashamed, and in this case it is also AIR! I would think they could make half an effort, at least.

Well... there is still good singing, of course. Karthikeya is an excellent addition to the MS discography (although the end is clipped off... presumably because the original included a thani?). There are some other interesting tracks too... the Thyagaraja kritis, etc.

At any rate, I cannot justify including it in the CD list, but I leave this file for the enterprising reader to find.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To Carnatic CD list.

T. M. McComb