Tudor Songs / White

Tears & Lamentations
Whyte / Fayrfax Manuscript / Henry VIII
Pro Cantione Antiqua - Edgar Fleet & Mark Brown
AS&V "Quicksilva" CDQS 6151 [CD]
Regis RRC 1259 [CD]


  1. John Browne (1426-1498): Jhesu Mercy
  2. Richard Pygott (fl.c.1520): Quid petis, o fili?
  3. Richard Davy (c.1465-c.1507): A Blessid Jhesu
  4. Sheryngham (fl.c.1500): A Gentill Jhesu
  5. Anon: A My Dere Sonne
  6. Gilbert Banastir (c.1445-1487): My Fearfull Dreme
  7. Anon: Alone, Alone, Alone
  8. William Cornyshe (1468-1523): Woefully Arrayed
  9. Robert Whyte (c.1538-1574): Lamentationes Jeremiae Prophetae Cum Sex Vocibus
  10. Whyte: Libera Me Domine

Release date: 1995

Previous release:
[1]-[8] Hyperion A 66152 [LP] A Gentill Jhesu - Music from the Fayrfax Ms. and Henry VIII's Book
[9]-[10] new
Regis release: 2006

Playing time: 68'

The pairing here of Tudor songs of the Fayrfax & Henry VIII songbooks (using some instrumental support) with some sacred music of Robert White is a bit odd, but also fortuitous. This is a distinct six-voice setting of the Lamentations by White (as opposed to his more famous five-voice setting).

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb