The Hufstader Singers

The Hufstader Singers
Hufstader Singers
Cook 1092 [LP, 25cm, mono]
Cook 1092BN [LP binaural, 30cm, mono]


    Clément Janequin
  1. Ce mois de Mai

  2. Orlando de Lassus
  3. Soyons joyeux

  4. Francis Pilkington
  5. Rest sweet nymphs

  6. Tomas Morley
  7. April is in my mistress' face

  8. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  9. Sicut cervus

  10. John Dowland
  11. Weep you no more sad fountains

  12. Samuel Barber
  13. Three Reincarnations (1942)
    1. Mary Hines
    2. Anthony O'Daly
    3. The Coolin

    Maurice Ravel
  14. Trois beaux oiseaux du paradis

Playing time: ??' ??"

[1]-[8] Hufstader Singers [Sarah Fleming (soprano), Martha Flowers (soprano), Bonnie Parcell (soprano), James Beach (tenor), Russell Oberlin (tenor), Benjamin Wilkes (tenor), Loretta Bohn (alto), Claire Holmes (alto), Violet Serwin (alto), Richard Chapline (bass), Peter Flanders (bass), Christopher O'Malley (bass)] - Robert Hufstader, dir.

Recording site and date:
Unknown [1952 or prior];
Rel.: 1952

Cook 11312 [LP, mono] The Forgotten Pedal Harpsichord - The Hufstader Singers.

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from Gregg Audette and MELVYL.
The 1092BN binaural issue used the Cook dual-cartridge system.
All the Hufstader selections are sung as ensembles except for a soprano bit in the Ravel; i.e. Oberlin is never heard solo, though his voice is often prominent.
Cook was a small label put out by engineer Emory Cook, who here did himself no credit, sound being rather below contemporary average.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge