The Forgotten Pedal Harpsichord - The Hufstader Singers

The Forgotten Pedal Harpsichord - The Hufstader Singers
Bruce Prince-Joseph - Hufstader Singers
Cook 11312 [LP, mono]


    "The Forgotten Pedal Harpsichord"

    Antonio Vivaldi, arr. J. S. Bach
  1. Concerto #2 in a, BWV 593

  2. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  3. Sonata in C, K. 545

  4. Johann Sebastian Bach
  5. Prelude in G, BWV 541
  6. English Suite #2 in a, BWV 807--Bouree II

  7. ----

    "The Hufstader Singers"

    Clément Janequin
  8. Ce mois de Mai

  9. Orlando de Lassus
  10. Soyons joyeux

  11. Francis Pilkington
  12. Rest sweet nymphs

  13. Tomas Morley
  14. April is in my mistress' face

  15. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  16. Sicut cervus

  17. John Dowland
  18. Weep you no more sad fountains

  19. Samuel Barber
  20. Three Reincarnations (1942)
    1. Mary Hines
    2. Anthony O'Daly
    3. The Coolin

    Maurice Ravel
  21. Trois beaux oiseaux du paradis

Playing time: 77' 43"

[1]-[4] Bruce Prince-Joseph (pedal harpsichord)
[5]-[12] Hufstader Singers [Sarah Fleming (soprano), Martha Flowers (soprano), Bonnie Parcell (soprano), James Beach (tenor), Russell Oberlin (tenor), Benjamin Wilkes (tenor), Loretta Bohn (alto), Claire Holmes (alto), Violet Serwin (alto), Richard Chapline (bass), Peter Flanders (bass), Christopher O'Malley (bass)] - Robert Hufstader, dir.

Release date:
ca 1956

[5]-[12] Cook 1092 [LP, 25cm, mono] The Hufstader Singers

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from Gregg Audette.
The record is a coupling of two previous 10" issues, side 2 originally Cook 1092, issued 1953.
All the Hufstader selections are sung as ensembles except for a soprano bit in the Ravel; i.e. Oberlin is never heard solo, though his voice is often prominent.
Cook was a small label put out by engineer Emory Cook, who here did himself no credit, sound being rather below contemporary average.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge