Alfred Deller

Alfred Deller
Œuvres de Bach, Purcell, Dowland, Parsons, Bartlett & Campian
Alfred Deller et al.
Diapason « Les Indispensables de ... » No 3 [CD]


    Robert Parsons, King College, Cambridge MS
  1. Air: Pandolpho (orn. for lute)

  2. Thomas Campian, Rosseter's Book of Ayres, 1601
  3. Air: I care not for these ladies

  4. John Dowland, Book of Airs, 1597
  5. Air: Can she excuse my wrongs ?

  6. John Bartlett (m) / George Gascoigne (t), A Book of Ayres ... 1606
  7. Air: Of all the birds that I do know

  8. John Dowland, A Pilgrim's Solace
  9. Air: From silent night

  10. Henry Purcell: The Faerie Queen
  11. Songs
    1. Secrecie's Song
    2. Mystery's Song

  12. Henry Purcell: Cantata "If ever I more riches did desire"
  13. Here let my life

  14. Henry Purcell: Ode "Welcome to all pleasures"
  15. Here the Deities approve

  16. Henry Purcell: Dioclesian
  17. Since from my dear Astrea's sight

  18. Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No. 170 « Vergnügte Ruh' beliebte Seelenlust »
  19. Aria: Vergnügte Ruh'
  20. Recitative: Die Welt, das Sündenhaus
  21. Aria: Wie jammern
  22. Recitative: Wer solte sich
  23. Aria: Wie leid ist mir das Leben

  24. Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No. 54 « Widerstehe doch der Sünde »
  25. Aria: Widerstehe
  26. Recitative: Die Art
  27. Aria: Wer Sunde tut

  28. Johann Sebastian Bach: Mass, in B minor
  29. Agnus Dei

Playing time: 77' 44"

Performers recording site and date:
See links below
Rel.: 2008

Excerpts (from original release)
[1]-[5] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-539 [LP] Elizabethan and Jacobean Music - Airs and Instrumental Music of England
[6]-[9] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-547 [LP] Music of Henry Purcell, Jenkins and Locke
[10]-[18] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-550 [LP] Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No. 170 - Cantata No. 54 - Agnus Dei

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 558-8 (may 2008)

Information from CD.
This CD was released as as a "bonus" CD with May 2008 edition of Diapason.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge