Stradella - La Susanna

Alessandro Stradella - La Susanna
Oratorio in two parts - Libretto by Giovanni Battista Giadin
Kweksilber, Nelson, Jacobs, Hill, Cold, Instrumentalists - Alan Curtis, dir.
EMI "Reflexe" 1C 065 45 643 / 44 [LPx2]



    Alessandro Stradella: La Susanna
  1. Sinfonia avanti l'oratorio

  3. Recitativo (Testo)
  4. Nr.1 Choro à tre
  5. Recitativo (Testo)
  6. Nr.2 Aria (Testo)
  7. Recitativo (Testo)
  8. Nr.3 Aria (Giudici I)
  9. Recitativo (Giudici I e II)
  10. Recitativo (Giudici I)
  11. Nr.5 Duetto (Giudici I e II)
  12. Recitativo (Giudici I)
  13. Recitativo (Giudici I)
  14. Nr.6 Aria (Giudici I)
  15. Recitativo (Giudici I e II)
  16. Recitativo (Testo)
  17. Nr.7 Choro à tre
  18. Recitativo (Testo)
  19. Nr.8 Aria (Susanna)
  20. Nr.9 Aria (Susanna)
  21. Recitativo (Susanna)
  22. Nr.10 Aria (Susanna)
  23. Recitativo (Testo)
  24. Nr.11 Aria (Testo)
  25. Recitativo (Testo)
  26. Nr.12 Duetto (Giudici I e II)
  27. Recitativo (Susanna)
  28. Nr.13 Duetto (Arioso) (Giudici I e II)
  29. Recitativo (Susanna, Giudici I e II)
  30. Recitativo (Testo)
  31. Nr.14 Choro à cinque
  32. LP-2

    Alessandro Stradella: La Susanna
  33. Nr.15 Aria (Testo)
  34. Recitativo (Testo)
  35. Nr.16 Aria (Susanna)Recitativo (Susanna)
  36. Nr.17 Aria (Susanna)
  37. Recitativo (Testo)
  38. Recitativo (Giudici I)
  39. Nr.18 Duetto (Giudici I e II)
  40. Recitativo (Testo)
  41. Nr.19 Aria (Susanna)
  42. Recitativo (Susanna)
  43. Recitativo (Testo)
  44. Recitativo (Daniele)
  45. Nr.20 Aria (Daniele)
  46. Recitativo (Daniele)
  47. Recitativo (Testo)
  48. Nr.21 Aria (Daniele)
  49. Recitativo (Daniele e Guidice I)
  50. Nr.22 Aria (Daniele)
  51. Recitativo (Daniele e Guidice II)
  52. Recitativo (Testo)
  53. Nr.23 à tre (Daniele e due Giudici)
  54. Recitativo (Giudici I)
  55. Recitativo (Testo)
  56. Nr.24 Choro à tre
  57. Nr.25 Choro à cinque

Playing time: 51' 52" + 44' 38" = 96' 30"

Marjanne Kweksilber (soprano - Susanna), Judith Nelson (soprano - Daniele), René Jacobs (alto - Testo (narrator)), Martyn Hill (tenor - Guidice II (judge II)), Ulrik Cold (bass - Guidice I (judge I)), Ingrid Seifert (baroque violin), Hajo Bäss (baroque violin), Jap van ter Linden (baroque cello), Jeroen van ter Linden (violone), Alan Curtis (harpsichord), Konrad Junghänel (theorbo)] - Alan Curtis, dir.

Recording site and date:
Doopsgezinde Gemeente Kerk, Amsterdam [1978]

Label may vary (EMI-VSM (France), Odeon or Peters)

EMI Classics 7243 8 26515 2 [CDx6] EMI "Reflexe - Stationen Europäischer Musik" Vol. 8.

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Early Music America (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):
Goldberg (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information kindly provided by Peter Berg (CD from EMI compilation)

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge