Ockeghem: Missa Prolationum

Ockeghem: Missa Prolationum / Marian Motets
Hilliard Ensemble - Paul Hillier
EMI "Reflexe" CDC7 49798 [CD]
Virgin Veritas Edition 61484 [CD]


    Missa Prolationum à 4
  1. Kyrie eleison I
  2. Christe eleison
  3. Kyrie eleison II
  4. Gloria
  5. Credo
  6. Sanctus
  7. Pleni sunt coeli
  8. Osanna
  9. Benedictus
  10. Agnus Dei I
  11. Agnus Dei II/III

  12. Marian Motets
  13. Alma redemptoris mater à 4
  14. Salve regina à 4
  15. Intemerata Dei mater à 5
  16. Ave Maria à 4
  17. Salve regina à 4

Performers: David James (alto), Ashley Stafford (alto), Rogers Covey-Crump (tenor), John Potter (tenor), Mark Padmore (tenor), Gordon Jones (baritone), Paul Hillier (bass), David Beavan (bass)

Playing time: 68'

Recording site and date:
Boxgrove Priory, Chichester, UK [04/1988];
Rel.: 1989

Virgin Classics « Veritas X2 » (EMI) 628492-2 [CDx2] Johannes Ockeghem: Requiem – Missa Mi-Mi – Missa Prolationum – Marian Motets

[10] EMI Classics 0946 3 61524 2 4 Music of the Renaissance: The Da Vinci Collection

This is an all-male vocal performance. The Missa Prolationum is one of Ockeghem's most famous masses, constructed entirely in canon. As such, it is a unique example of the period and continued to be admired for its technical means for several decades.

This recording also includes Ockeghem's complete surviving motets, and indeed item #13 is now thought not to be by Ockeghem. These motets show a great formal imagination and contrapuntal prowess, yet remain accessible.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb