Le Jeune Missa Ad Placitum

Le Jeune: Missa Ad Placitum, etc.
Choir of New College Oxford - Edward Higginbottom
Hyperion 66387


  1. Titelouze: Magnificat anima mea (organ)
  2. Et exultavit
  3. Titelouze: Quia respexit (organ)
  4. Quia fecit
  5. Titelouze: Et misericordia elus (organ)
  6. Fecit potentiam
  7. Titelouze: Deposuit potentes (organ)
  8. Esurientes implevit
  9. Titelouze: Suscepit Israel (organ)
  10. Sicut locutus est
  11. Titelouze: Gloria Patri (organ)
  12. Sicut erat
  13. Benedicite Dominum

  14. Missa Ad Placitum
  15. Kyrie eleison
  16. Gloria in excelsis Deo
  17. Credo in unum Deum
  18. Racquet: Offertorium - Fantasie (organ)
  19. Sanctus
  20. Benedictus
  21. Agnus Dei

Performers: Trebles: Oliver Johnston, Lewis Wilson, Thomas Carey, Howard Ferguson, Christopher Neale, Jerome Finnis, Jonathan Belcher, Benedict Rowe, Guy Head, Timothy Bowles, Alexander Hunt; Altos: William Missin, Jeremy Burrows, Roger Barron, Geoffrey Cryer; Tenors: Philip Cave, Toby Spence, Justin Lee, Mark Anderson; Basses: Colin Gordon, John Bernays, Paul Grier, Tim West, Robert Hollingworth

Playing time: 68'

Recording date: July 1989

Le Jeune's Mass is composed "freely," i.e. without a unifying theme; it is one of the most contrapuntally complex masses of the period. Clear reasons for the Protestant Le Jeune writing a mass are unknown, but basic speculation is that he wanted to contribute to this musical tradition.

The polyphony is sung by a large choir of men and boys; the performance is emotional and relatively clear (given the bulk of such an ensemble).

The Magnificat performance alternates Le Jeune's polyphony with the organ verses written by Jehan Titelouze (c.1563-1633); the mass includes an offertory movement by the obscure organ composer Charles Racquet.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb