Early Italian Violin Sonatas

Early Italian Violin Sonatas
Stradella / Marini / Castello / Cima / Uccellini
Convivium - Elizabeth Wallfisch
Hyperion 66985


  1. Stradella (1644-1682): Sinfonia No. 22 from Concertus Musicus
  2. Marini (c.1587-1663): Sonata per sonar con tre corde a modo di Lira
  3. Uccellini (c.1603-1680): Sonata, over Toccata Quinta a violino solo "detta la Laura Rilucente"
  4. Marini: Sinfonia "La Orlandina"
  5. Marini: Sinfonia &qout;La Gardana"
  6. Marini: Sinfonia "La Ponte"
  7. Castello (fl.1620s): Quarta sonata a due, Soprano e Trombom overo violetta (Libro Primo)
  8. Cima (c.1570-c.1622): Sonata 1
  9. Cima: Sonata 2
  10. Castello: Sonata seconda a sopran solo (Libro Secondo)
  11. Marini: Sonata prima "Semplice"
  12. Marini: Sonata terza "Variata"
  13. Marini: Sonata quarta per sonar con due corde
  14. Castello: Sonata settima a due, Sopran e Bassoon
  15. Uccellini: Sonata ottava a violino e basso
  16. Uccellini: Sonata seconda "La luciminia contenta a violino solo"
  17. Marini: Romanesca

Performers: Elizabeth Wallfisch (violin), Richard Tunnicliffe (cello, 5-string cello), Paul Nicholson (organ, harpsichord), Paula Chateauneuf (theorbo, guitar)

Playing time: 72'

Recording date: May 1997

This otherwise typical program does contain an interesting discussion in the liner notes to suggest that the technical limits of publishing do not leave us with a true picture of violin playing in Italy between Marini's Opus 8 (engraved in a very costly fashion) and Corelli. There is certainly little development, for whatever reason.

This is the first recording under the new name for what had been the Locatelli Trio.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb