Dowland - Book I

Dowland: First Booke of Songes (1597)
The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley
L'Oiseau Lyre 421 653
Decca "British Music Collection" 475 048
Decca 475 9114


  1. Unquiet thoughts
  2. Who ever thinks or hopes of love
  3. My thoughts are wing'd with hopes
  4. If my complaints
  5. Can she excuse my wrongs
  6. Now, O now, I needs must part
  7. Dear, if you change
  8. Burst forth my tears
  9. Go crystal tears
  10. Think'st thou then by thy feigning
  11. Come away, come sweet love
  12. Rest awhile, you cruel cares
  13. Sleep, wayward thoughts
  14. All ye, whom Love or Fortune
  15. Wilt thou unkind thus reave me
  16. Would my conceit
  17. Come again: sweet love doth now invite
  18. His golden locks
  19. Awake, sweet love
  20. Come, heavy sleep
  21. Away with these self-loving lads

Performers: Emma Kirkby (soprano), John York Skinner (countertenor), Martyn Hill (tenor), David Thomas (bass), Anthony Rooley (lute)

Playing time: 77'

Recording date: January 1976; reissued on CD: 1989

Other recordings:

Dowland: First Booke of Songes
Rufus Müller / Christopher Wilson
AS&V Gaudeamus 135
Dowland: First Book of Songs
Rogers Covey-Crump / Jakob Lindberg
BIS 430

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb