In Loving Memory

In Loving Memory
Psalms, Songs and Elegies
The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley, dir.
Musica Oscura 070972-2


    William Lawes (1602-1645) - Psalms
  1. Lord, as the Hart
  2. Out of the horrour of the Deep
  3. Praise the Lord
  4. How like a widow
  5. How long wilt thou forget
  6. Ne irascaris Domine
  7. Gloria Parti et Filio

  8. William Lawes - Songs
  9. Perfect and Endles Circles
  10. Amarillis, tear thy hair
  11. Come Adonis, come away
  12. He that will not love
  13. Why soe pall an wan
  14. Yee Feinds and Furies
  15. Gather you Rosebuds

  16. Elegies
    Henry Lawes
  17. Cease you jolly Shepherds

  18. John Wilson
  19. O doe not now lament and cry

  20. John Cobb
  21. Dear Will dead

  22. Simon Ive
  23. Lament and mourne

  24. John Jenkins
  25. Why in this shade of night?

  26. John Hilton
  27. Bound by the neere conjunction

  28. Williams Lawes
  29. Musick, the Master of thy Art

Playing time: 56'29"

Performer: The Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley, dir.
[Emma Kirkby (soprano), Evelyn Tubb (soprano), Mary Nichols (alto), Joseph Cornwell (tenor), Andrew King (tenor), Simon Grant (bass), Anthony Rooley (lute), Alan Wilson (organ)]

Recording site and date: Forde Abbey, Dorset, March 1995

Comments: Information from owned CD.

A related program:

Songs by Henry & William Lawes
Robin Blaze, Elizabeth Kenny, et al.
Hyperion 67589

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Jon Stringer