Angelo Notari: Prime Nuove Musiche (1613)
Consort of Musicke - Anthony Rooley
Musica Oscura 70983


  1. Intenerite voi, lagrime mie
  2. Occhi miei
  3. Su la riva del Tebro
  4. Piangono al pianger mio le fere
  5. Occhi, un tempo mia vita
  6. Girate, occhi, girate
  7. Ahi, che s'accresce in me l'usato ardore
  8. Che farai, Meliseo?
  9. Musa, Amor porta novella
  10. Sì da me pur mi desviano
  11. Ecco, ch'un'altra volta
  12. Se nasce in cielo
  13. O bella Clori
  14. Mesta ti scorgo
  15. Anima eletta
  16. Con esperanças espero
  17. Così di ben amar
  18. Ben qui si mostra il ciel

Performers: Emma Kirkby (soprano), Evelyn Tubb (soprano), Joseph Cornwell (tenor), Andrew King (tenor), Richard Wistreich (bass), David Thomas (bass), Susan Carpenter Jacobs (violin), Cathy Weiss (violin), Anthony Rooley (chitarrone)

Playing time: 52'

Recording date: February 1984

Previous issued as: Hyperion 66140 (LP)

Angelo Notari (1566-1663) was born in Padua, was trained and served for some time in Venice, and then took a position in London in 1610 (age 44). The present recording comes from his only printed collection, done in London as one of the first two (with Parthenia) engraved scores in England. Other manuscript sources show Notari arranging madrigals by others for high voice - harmonic bass ensembles, as would be characteristic of the "nuove musiche" trend.

A recording featuring Emma Kirkby, with similar selections:

Arie antiche
Caccini / Nauwach / Notari / Strozzi / Carissimi / Purcell
Emma Kirkby
Musica Oscura 70988

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb