Music at the Burgundian Court

Music at the Burgundian Court - Musique à la Cour de Bourgogne (1450-1500) - Dufay, Ockeghem, Obrecht
Pro Musica Antiqua (Brussels) - Safford Cape, dir.
Vanguard "The Bach Guild" BG 634 [LP, mono]
Amadeo AVRS 5028 [LP, mono]
Vanguard "Everyman" 08 6124 71 [CD]


  1. Dance: Dit le Bourguynon

  2. Arnold de Lantins
  3. Puisque je voy, belle

  4. Guillaume Dufay
  5. Hé! Compaignons

  6. Johannes Ockeghem
  7. D'un autre amer cueur s'abesseroit?

  8. Jacob Obrecht:
  9. Tsat een meskin

  10. Robert Morton
  11. N'arraige-je jamais mieulx

  12. Guillaume Dufay
  13. J'attendray tant qu'il vous playra
  14. Sequence for Whitsunday: Veni sancte Spiritus

  15. Guillaume Dufay, Missa "Se la face ay pale"
  16. Hosanna

  17. ----
    Gilles Binchois
  18. Amours merchi
  19. De plus en plus
  20. Amoreux suy
  21. Adieu, adieu, mon joieulx souvenir
  22. Je loe amours
  23. Triste plaisir
  24. Filles à marier
  25. Hymn for Whitsuntide: Beata nobis gaudia
  26. Agnus Dei

Playing time: 51' 42"

Performers: Pro Musica Antiqua [Renée Defraiteur (soprano), Christiane Plessis (contralto), René Letroye (tenor), Franz Mertens (tenor), Max Bourdon (bass), Hertha Theunen-Seidl (lute), Silva Devos (recorders), Janine Rubinlicht (descant viol), Gaston Dôme (tenor viol), André Douvere (tenor viol)] - Safford Cape, dir.

Recording site and date:
Unknown [1954 or prior]

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned LP & CD and Georges Lobo. The CD re-issue is a pure delight. Another proof that Cape was the first in the 50's to interpret the music of that period with an approach very close to what we hear today. It is sad that nearly all of his production is no more available since the late 60's. This CD deserves a wider distribution with more explanatory notes and credits to performers especially the soprano and contralto (that appeared on the LP).

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge