The Three Ravens

The Three Ravens - Les Trois Corbeaux
Elizabethan Folk & Minstrels Songs - Chants traditionnels de Ménestrels et Élizabéthains
Alfred Deller, Desmond Dupré
Vanguard (Arcade) Classics "The Alfred Deller Collection" 08 8026 71 [CD, Europe]
Vanguard (Omega) Classics "The Alfred Deller Collection" OVC 8026 [CD, NA]
Vanguard (Arcade) Classics "Édition Alfred Deller" 08 5064 71 [CD, Europe]
Vanguard Classics "Bach Guild" ATM 1252 [CD]


    Anon., ca 16th-17th c.:
  1. The Three Ravens
  2. The Cuckoo
  3. How Should I Your True Love Know (Ophelia's song from Hamlet)
  4. Sweet Nightingale
  5. I Will Give My Love an Apple
  6. The Oak and the Ash
  7. Go From My Window (lute solo)
  8. King Henry
  9. Coventry Carol
  10. Barbara Allen
  11. Heigh Ho, the Wind and the Rain
  12. O Waly, Waly
  13. Down in Yon Forest
  14. Matthew, Mark, Luke and John

  15. Johnson (attr.):
  16. A Toye

  17. Anon., ca 16th-17th c.:
  18. The Tailor and the Mouse
  19. Greensleeves

  20. Anon.:
  21. The Wraggle Taggle Gipsies
  22. Lord Rendall

  23. Anon.:
  24. Sweet Jane
  25. The Frog and the Mouse
  26. The Seeds of Love

  27. Anon., arr. S. Taylor:
  28. Near London Town
  29. Who's Going to Shoe Your Pretty Little Foot ?

  30. Anon.:
  31. Blow Away the Morning Dew
  32. Searching for lambs

  33. Anon.:
  34. Sweet England
  35. Dabbling in the Dew

  36. Anon.:
  37. Just as the Tide Was A-Flowing

Playing time: 73' 23"

[1]-[17] Alfred Deller (countertenor), Desmond Dupré (lute & guitar)
[18]-[29] Alfred Deller (countertenor), Desmond Dupré (lute & guitar) & The Taylor Recorder Consort [Richard Taylor (descant recorder), Christopher Taylor (treble recorder), Christine Taylor (tenor recorder), Stanley Taylor (bass recorder and arranger)]

Recording site and date:
[1]-[17] Masonic Temple, Brooklyn, New-York, NY, USA [10/1955]
[18]-[29] Walthamstow Town Hall, London UK [02/1956]

[1]-[17] Vanguard VRS 479 [LP, mono] The Three Ravens
[18]-[29] Vanguard VRS 1001 [LP, mono] The Wraggle Taggle Gypsies
[19] Vanguard "The Bach Guild" BG-606 [LP, mono] Musical Panorama of Shakespearean England
[1]-[17] Vanguard (Arcade) Classics 08 5064 71 [CD, Europe] The Three Ravens
[1]-[17] Vanguard (Omega) Classics OVC 8104 [CD, NA] The Three Ravens
[18]-[29] Vanguard (Omega) Classics OVC 8105. The Wraggle Taggle Gypsies
[19] Vanguard (Arcade) Classics 08 5075 71 [CD, Europe] Musical Panorama of Shakespeare's England

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 409-188 (november 1994 (as Vanguard Classics 08 5064 71))
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.):

Information from owned CDs (OVC 8026 and 08 5064 71)

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge