Musical Panorama of Shakespeare's England

Musical Panorama of Shakespeare's England
Deller Consort, Alfred Deller, Wenzinger Consort of viols, April Cantelo, Eileen McLoughlin, Desmond Dupré, Taylor Recorder Consort, Gustav Leonhardt, Ambrosian Singers
Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-606 [LP, mono]
Fontana TFL 6022 [LP, mono, UK]
Vanguard Classics (Arcade) « Alfred Deller Edition » 08 5075 71 [CD, Europe]
Vanguard Classics (Arcade) « Alfred Deller Edition » 300 393-2 [CD, France]


    Anon., pub. 1614:
  1. We be soldiers three

  2. John Dowland:
  3. Air for lute solo: My Lady Hunsdon's Puffe

  4. Anon.:
  5. Heigh Ho, the Wind and the Rain

  6. John Wilbye, The second set of madrigals XXV (1609)
  7. Ye that do live in pleasures plenty

  8. Anon., Dorothy Welde Lute book:
  9. Munday's Joy
    Watkin's Ale

  10. Thomas Ravenscroft, (ed. D. Stevens)
  11. New Oysters

  12. Thomas Tallis: Cantiones sacrae (1575)
  13. O nata lux de lumine

  14. Robert Johnson (set by Gilles Farnaby):
  15. Alman for harpsichord

  16. Anon.:
  17. Have you seen but a white lilly

  18. Anon., Dolmetsch Collection: Consorts
  19. Frog Galliard (arr. C. Dolmetsch)
    Coranto (arr. A. Dolmetsch)
    Borey "Mr. Tollett" (arr. C. Dolmetsch)
    John Bennet:
  20. Hunting madrigal: Lure, falconers, lure!

  21. Anon., ca 16-17th c.:
  22. Greensleeves

  23. Anon., ca 15th c.:
  24. Boar's Head Carol

  25. Thomas Morley: The First Booke of Canzonets, iii (1595)
  26. Sweet Nymph

  27. Alphonse Ferrabosco II:
  28. Fantasias for Viols in G Minor

  29. Anon.:
  30. The Agincourt song: Deo gracias, Anglia

  31. Anon., arr. Warlock, Add. Mss 18936-9, British Museum:
  32. O Death, Rock Me Asleep

  33. Anon.:
  34. He who will an alehouse keep

  35. Anon.:
  36. Lord Rendall

  37. William Byrd
  38. Non nobis Domine

Playing time: 44' 03"

Deller Consort, Alfred Deller (countertenor), Wenzinger Consort of viols - August Wenzinger, dir., April Cantelo (soprano), Eileen McLoughlin (soprano), Desmond Dupré (lute), Taylor Recorder Consort, Gustav Leonhardt (harpsichord), Ambrosian Singers

Recording site and date:
Various places [1959 and prior]

Excerpts from (original LP release):
[1], [11] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-561 [LP, mono] Tavern Songs Catches and Glees and other diverse entertainment
[2], [8] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-539 [LP.mono] Elizabethan and Jacobean Music
[3], [12] Vanguard VRS-479 [LP, mono] English Folk Songs: The Three Ravens
[4] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-578 [LP, mono] The English Madrigal School, vol. 4: John Wilbye
[5], [10], [19] Vanguard VRS 1001 [LP, mono] The Wraggle Taggle Gypsies
[6] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG 563 [LP, monp] The Cries of London
[7] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-551 [LP, mono] Thomas Tallis: The Lamentations of Jeremiah & 5 hymns (Cantiones Sacrae)
[9] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-576 [LP, mono] English Lute Songs and Six In Nomines
[13] Vanguard VRS-499 [LP, mono] The Holly and the Ivy
[14] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-553 [LP, mono] The English Madrigal School vol. I
[15], [17] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-557 [LP, mono] William Byrd and His Age
[16], [20] ?
[18] Vanguard « The Bach Guild » BG-602 / BGS 5030 [LP, mono/stereo] Tavern Songs Vol. II A collection of catch and glees both ribald and refined

Reviewed in:
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 40/477-395 (Feb 1963)

Comments: Information from CD.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge