Music for Evensong and the Feast of Christmas

Music for Evensong and the Feast of Christmas
The Choir of Ely Cathedral / The Renaissance Singers - Michael Howard
Verus Records (no number) [CD]


    Music for Evensong

    Orlando Gibbons
  1. Preces

  2. Anon.
  3. Psalm 69

  4. Anon.
  5. Psalm 70

  6. Thomas Attwood Walmisley (1814-1856)
  7. Office Hymn: O kind Creator bow thine ear

  8. Walmisley
  9. Magnificat in D minor

  10. Walmisley
  11. Nunc Dimitus in D minor

  12. Samuel Sebastian Wesley (1820-1876)
  13. Wash me throughly
  14. Music for the Feast of Christmas

    Thomas Caustun
  15. Rejoice in the Lord

  16. Orlando Gibbons
  17. The Record of John

  18. John Amner
  19. Oh ye little flock

  20. Olivier Messiaen
  21. Les anges

  22. Anon., plainsong mode II
  23. Introit: Dominus dixit

  24. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  25. Dies sanctificatus

  26. Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
  27. Hodie Christus est

  28. William Byrd
  29. An earthly tree

  30. Iacob Handl (Jacobus Gallus)
  31. Resonet in laudibus

  32. Anon., early 15th c.
  33. Eya martyr Stephane

  34. Tomás Luis de Victoria
  35. O quam gloriosam

  36. Anon., plainsong mode VII
  37. Vox in Rama

  38. Gulielmus (Guillaume) Dufay, plainsong mode i, with faux bourdon
  39. Salvete flores

  40. Anon.
  41. The Coventry Carol

Playing time: ??' ??"

The Choristers and Lay Clerks of Ely Cathedral, The Renaissance Singers, William Jeremiah (solo treble), Richard Swabey (solo treble), John Whitworth (countertenor), Arthur Wills (organ) - Michael Howard, dir. (organist and Magister Choristarum).

Recording site and date:
[1]-[7] unknown [March 1957]
[8]-[21] Ely Cathedral [1958 or prior]

[8]-[21] Argo RG 148 Christmas Music

Information from Argo LP listing and Jeremy Wells. Tracks [1]-[7] were taken from an amateur recording to supplement the original LP.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge