Christmas Music

Christmas Music
Choristers of Ely Cathedral, Renaissance Singers - Michael Howard, dir. & Arthur Wills
Argo RG 148 [LP, mono]
Argo ZRG 5148 [LP, stereo]
London OS.25118 [LP]


    Thomas Caustun
  1. Rejoice in the Lord

  2. Orlando Gibbons
  3. The Record of John

  4. John Amner
  5. Oh ye little flock

  6. Olivier Messiaen
  7. Les anges

  8. Anon., plainsong mode II
  9. Introit: Dominus dixit

  10. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  11. Dies sanctificatus

  12. Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
  13. Hodie Christus est

  14. William Byrd
  15. An earthly tree

  16. Iacob Handl (Jacobus Gallus)
  17. Resonet in laudibus

  18. Anon., early 15th c.
  19. Eya martyr Stephane

  20. Tomás Luis de Victoria
  21. O quam gloriosam

  22. Anon., plainsong mode VII
  23. Vox in Rama

  24. Gulielmus (Guillaume) Dufay, plainsong mode i, with faux bourdon
  25. Salvete flores

  26. Anon.
  27. The Coventry Carol

Playing time: ??' ??"

Choristers of Ely Cathedral, The Renaissance Singers, William Jeremiah (solo treble), Richard Swabey (solo treble), John Whitworth (counter-tenor), Arthur Wills (organ) - Michael Howard, dir. (organist and Magister Choristarum).

Recording site and date:
Ely Cathedral [1958 or prior]

Verus Records [CD] Music for Evensong and the Feast of Christmas
Verus Records CD002 [CD] Michael Howard: A Choral Pioneer

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): (december 1959)
Revue Disques (#-p.):

Information from MELVYL and Jeremy Wells.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge