Dowland: Treasures from my minde

Treasures from my minde
Songs and instrumental pieces by John Dowland
Virgin Veritas 45288


  1. Come again, sweet love doth now invite (voice, lute, 2 viols)
  2. Goe nightly cares, the enemy to rest (voice, lute, flute, viol)
  3. Pavan: La mia Barbara (lute)
  4. If my complaints could passions move (voice, lute)
  5. Awake, sweet love, thou art returnd (voice, lute)
  6. From silent night, true register of moanes (voice, lute, 2 viols)
  7. The Earle of Essex Galiard (2 viols, lute)
  8. M. Buctons Galiard (flute, 2 viols, lute)
  9. M. Thomas Collier his Galiard with 2 trebles (flute, 2 viols, lute)
  10. In darknesse let mee dwell (voice, lute)
  11. Flow my teares fall from your springs (voice, lute, viol)
  12. The Frog Galiard (flute, lute)
  13. Captaine Digorie Piper his Galiard (flute, lute)
  14. Come away, come sweet love (voice, lute)
  15. Lord Strangs March (flute, viol, cittern)
  16. Fine knacks for ladies (flute, viol cittern)
  17. Mistresse Nichols Almand (flute, viol, cittern)
  18. Lasso vita mia, mi fa morire (voice, lute, 2 viols)
  19. Sorrow sorrow stay, lend true repentant teares (voice, lute, viol)
  20. Fantasie (lute)
  21. Time stands still (voice, lute, viol)

Performers: Catherine King (mezzo-soprano), Jacob Heringman (lutes, cittern), Sarah Cunningham (viols), Susanna Pell (bass viol), William Lyons (flutes)

Playing time: 66'

Recording dates: June 1996, January & February 1997 (Gloucestershire)

Other recordings by the present ensemble:

There is no rose
Renaissance Christmas Music
Virgin Veritas 45286
Chansons Nouvelles
Parisian chansons and dances c.1530-1550
Virgin Veritas 45313
Renaissance Love Songs
Catherine Bott / Virelai
BBC Music Magazine 54
Sad Steps
New Settings of Renaissance Poems
Riverrun 62

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb