Josquin: Motets and Chansons

Josquin: Motets and Chansons
Hilliard Ensemble - Paul Hillier
EMI "Reflexe" 1C 067 143 573-1 [LP]
EMI "Reflexe" ASD 143 573-1 [LP, UK]
EMI "Reflexe" TCASD 143 573-4 [Cass., UK]
Angel S 38040 [LP]
EMI Reflexe (CDC or 567) 749 209-2 [CD]
Virgin Veritas Edition 61302 [CD]


  1. Motet: Ave Maria (a 4)
  2. Motet: Absalon, fili mi (a 4)
  3. Motet: Veni, sancte Spiritus (a 6)
  4. Motet: De profundis clamavi (a 4)
  5. Frottola: Scaramella (a 4) (w/ setting by Compere)
  6. Chanson: In te Domine speravi (a 4)
  7. Frottola: El grillo (a 4)
  8. Chanson: Milles regretz (a 4)
  9. Chanson: Petite camusette (a 6)
  10. Chanson: Je me complains (a 5)
  11. Chanson: En l'ombre d'ung buissonet (a 3)
  12. Chanson: Je ne me puis tenir d'aimer (a 5)
  13. Motet-chanson: La deploration sur la mort de Ockeghem (a 5)

Playing time: 51'

Hilliard Ensemble
David James (counter-tenor), Paul Elliott (tenor), Leigh Nixon (tenor), Rogers Covey-Crump (tenor), Paul Hillier (bass), Michael George (bass)

Recording site and date:
Temple Church, London, UK [02/1983];
Rel.: 1984

[13] EMI Classics 0946 3 61524 2 4 Music of the Renaissance: The Da Vinci Collection

Reviewed in:
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 11/4- (March/April 1988)

This disc presents an excellent introduction to Josquin, and is one of the most widely admired recordings of Early music. Today, the De profundis setting is believed to be by Nicolas Champion (c.1475-1533).

A similar program:

Music of Josquin Desprez
King's Singers
RCA "Red Seal" 61814

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb