Yu Bo-Sun

Shu (Sichuan) Qin Music, Vol. 2
Yu Bo-Sun (Disc I)
Hugo HRP 7131


  1. Mozi Grieving over the Silk
  2. Confucius Reading the Book of Changes
  3. Water Spirit
  4. Changqing
  5. Stream Flowing down the Rocks
  6. Evening Song of the Drunken Fisherman
  7. Wild Geese Descending on the Sandbank
  8. Parasol Leaves Dancing in the Autumnal Breeze
  9. Moon of the Guan Pass
  10. Flowing Water
  11. Night Mooring at the Qiu River

Instrument: Qin "The Guest of Li Tie-Weng" (Song Dynasty)

Playing time: 67'

Recording date: July 1995 (Chengdu)

Yu Bo-Sun (b.1922) is one of the leading representatives of the Shu or Szechuan (as it's spelled here) style, one of the oldest and most important qin schools. In many ways it is the antithesis of Guangling, emphasizing internal rhythm and vigor instead of a more abstract conception. Yu Bo-Sun adopts a very free approach to rhythm, following the style of xinban, rhythm of the heart. It is thus a very spontaneous style. His articulation is, however, very precise and relatively free of vibrato.

This recital is continued in "Disc II" on Hugo 7132

To purchasing information for this disc.

To Chinese music intro.

T. M. McComb