Michael Howard: A Choral Pioneer

Michael Howard: A Choral Pioneer
Historic recordings of the Renaissance Singers and the Choir of Ely Cathedral
Choir of Ely Cathedral / Renaissance Singers - Michael Howard
Verus Records CD002 [CD]


    Music for the Feast of Christmas

    Thomas Caustun
  1. Rejoice in the Lord

  2. Orlando Gibbons
  3. The Record of John

  4. John Amner
  5. Oh ye little flock

  6. Olivier Messiaen
  7. Les anges

  8. Anon., plainsong mode II
  9. Introit: Dominus dixit

  10. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
  11. Dies sanctificatus

  12. Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck
  13. Hodie Christus est

  14. William Byrd
  15. An earthly tree

  16. Iacob Handl (Jacobus Gallus)
  17. Resonet in laudibus

  18. Anon., early 15th c.
  19. Eya martyr Stephane

  20. Tomás Luis de Victoria
  21. O quam gloriosam

  22. Anon., plainsong mode VII
  23. Vox in Rama

  24. Gulielmus (Guillaume) Dufay, plainsong mode i, with faux bourdon
  25. Salvete flores

  26. Anon.
  27. The Coventry Carol
  28. Aeterna Christi Munera

    Anon., plainsong mode VII
  29. Hymnus Aeterna Christi Munera

  30. Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina: Missa Aeterna Christi Munera
  31. Kyrie
  32. Gloria
  33. Credo
  34. Sanctus
  35. Benedictus
  36. Agnus Dei I
  37. Agnus Dei II

Playing time: ??' ??"

William Jeremiah (solo treble), Richard Swabey (solo treble), John Whitworth (countertenor), Arthur Wills (organ), etc.

Recording site and date:
[1]-[14] Ely Cathedral [07/1958]
[15]-[22] Arundel Cathedral [11/1958]

[1]-[14] Argo RG 148 Christmas Music

Information from Verus Records. This is a re-remastering of the Christmas section from the previous release.

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Todd M. McComb