Anne of the Thousand Days

Anne of the Thousand Days
New York Pro Musica et al.
Decca DL 7 9174


    Georges Delerue
  1. Overture
  2. Court Airs and Dances
  3. Lute Song
  4. Farewell My Love
  5. Fanfare and Dances for Henry VIII
  6. Execution and Epilogue

  7. ----
  8. 1. Popular Dance I
    2. Popular Dance II
    3. Popular Dance III

  9. Thomas Tallis
  10. 1. A Point
    Henry VIII
    2. Tanndernaken
    John Munday
    3. Tres Partes in Una

  11. Anthony Holborne
  12. 1. Pavan
    2. The Fairie Round
    3. The Montebanks' Dance

  13. William Byrd
  14. Lord Willobies Welcome Home

  15. John Dowland
  16. 1. Frog Galliard
    William Byrd
    2. My Lord of Oxenford's March

Playing time: ??' ??"

[1]-[6] unknown
[7]-[8], [11] New York Pro Musica - John Reeves White, dir.
[9]-[10] New York Pro Musica - Noah Greenberg, dir.

Recording site and date:
[1]-[6] Unknown [1969 or prior]
[7]-[11] refer to links below (excerpts)

Excerpts (from original release):
[7]-[8], [11] Decca Gold Label Series DL 9434 / 7 9434 [LP, mono / stereo] The Kynge's Musicke
[9]-[10] Decca Gold Label Series DL 9415 / 7 9415 [LP, mono / stereo] Instrumental music from the courts of Queen Elizabeth and King James

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.):
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.):

Information from Fernando Acosta
NYPM was involved in the music of the film featuring Richard Burton (King Henry VIII) and Geneviève Bujold (Anne Boleyn) and directed by Charles Jarrott; original music by Charles Delerue; according to information received by Fernando Acosta, the album was released by DECCA RECORDS in 1970 with the number DL 79174. It reads "Original Sound Track Music by Georges Delerue/Lyrics by John Hale. Additional Music of the Tudor Court Performed by the New York Pro Musica".

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge