The Saracen and the Dove

The Saracen and the Dove
Music from the Courts of Padua and Pavia around 1400
Orlando Consort
Archiv Produktion 459 620-2



    Johannes Ciconia
  1. Doctorum principem / Melodia suavissima (tenor: vir mitis)
  2. Per quella strada lactea

  3. Bartolino da Padova
  4. Imperial sedendo

  5. Johannes Ciconia
  6. O felix templum jubila

  7. Anon.
  8. O Maria, virgo davitica / O Maria, maris stella

  9. Johannes Ciconia
  10. O Padua, sidus praeclarum

  11. Bartolino da Padova
  12. La douce cere

  13. Johannes Ciconia
  14. Con lagreme bagnandome
  15. Gloria: Spiritus et alme
  16. Pavia

    Johannes Ciconia
  17. Una panthera

  18. Antonello de Caserta
  19. Del glorioso titulo

  20. Antonio Zacchara da Teramo
  21. Un fior gentil

  22. Johannes Ciconia
  23. Sus une fontayne
  24. Le ray au solyl

  25. Antonio Zacchara da Teramo
  26. Sumite, karissimi
  27. Dime, Fortuna
  28. Gloria: Ad ogni vento

Playing time: 74' 21"

Robert Harre-Jones (alto), Charles Daniels (tenor), Angus Smith (tenor), Donald Greig (baritone)

Recording site and date:
St-Osdag-Kirche, Mandelsloh, Neustadt, Germany [05/1998]

Reviewed in:
Diapason (#-p.): 460-104 (june 1999)
Gramophone (Vol./#-p.): 77/916-96 (july 1999)
Fanfare (Vol./#-p.): 23/2-418 (November/December 1999)
Goldberg (#-p.): 8-98 (fall 1999)

Information from owned CD.

An earlier recording by this ensemble, including works of some of these composers:

Popes & Antipopes
Music for the Courts of Avignon & Rome
Orlando Consort
Metronome 1008

To purchasing information for this disc.

To FAQ references to this recording.

To FAQ CD index page.

Pierre-F. Roberge